Ollie's CageOllieOllie

Quick Bio

Type of pet: Hamster
Breed/Species: Dwarf
Age: Adult
Gender: Male
  • Good with kids
Adoption Status: Adopted

UPDATE: Ollie will go to his new home next week! Yay!

This listing is for Ollie, the father. He is named after famous orphan Oliver Twist. He is a sociable guy. He is very curious, not afraid at all. He loves to be held and explore around in a hamster ball. He would be great for a family with kids calm enough to hold him safely. Age is unknown, but he was an adult in July when I took him in.

If you need a cage, you are welcome to the one in the picture. It is the original cage that he was found in.

Background: I never wanted to get any pets in Korea, but a pair of cute little dwarf hamsters were dropped in my lap this summer after my friend found them abandoned on the street in a garbage pile, cage and all. So sad! My friend was leaving soon and already had adopted a puppy, so was unable to keep them. After no one else wanted them, I said I would take care of them. Well, I had 2 happy little hamsters for over 2 months before one day, I came home to quite a surprise - 2 babies! I felt extremely stupid for not realizing that "the fat lazy one" was actually pregnant. I had tried to determine their sex, but frankly, they are just so tiny, it was really difficult and I wrongly assumed that since they were already together in the cage that they must be brothers or something. I immediately put the father in a separate cage upon finding them...however, 16 days days later SURPRISE 4 more hamsters. I feel very guilty about how this situation has played out, but honestly, I don't see how I could have prevented it. I know that hamsters come into heat quite often, and I know there gestation period is very short...so I thought I was in the safe zone after having 2 adult hamsters in a cage together for so long without reproducing. However, what's done is done, and I have managed to find homes for 4 of the babies. I've asked everyone I know, but there are no bites for the last 2 babies, who aren't really even babies anymore. And of course, I still have the parents as well....so that's 4 cages in my tiny apartment. Now I'm going to be leaving in February, and I'm starting to lose hope of finding homes myself.

Please contact me if you have any questions. I can meet anywhere in Seoul pretty easily and I also take fairly frequent trips to Daejeon and Gwangju.

Thanks for looking!

Adoption Fee: ₩10,000
Location: Namyangju - 남양주
Living Situation: With owners


megs's picture

That's great! Fingers crossed that it all works out. :)